Event Details

Sacred Heart College (Autonomous), Tirupattur organised SHYIA - Sacred Heart Young Inventor Award on 11th April, 2022. The annual event recognizes the young inventors and introduces their innovations and ideas to the society. Mr. Amar Kushwaha, District Collector, Tirupattur inaugurated and released the proceedings of SHYIA. In his address to the young innovators, the collector described the nature of innovation. Being from a rural background, he described the challenges he faced and the efforts he took to overcome them. He urged the students to be more pragmatic in their approach to be innovative. He said that, there are huge funds available from the government for innovation and development of Tirupattur District, but these funds have not been utilized still. He wanted young innovators to take initiatives that will benefit the society and look for problems and challenges that need to be addressed for the next generation.

Rev. Dr. John Alexander SDB, Rector and Secretary, presided over the event. Rev. Dr. D. Maria Antony Raj SDB, Principal welcomed the gathering. Rev. Dr. Maria Arockiaraj SDB, Additional Principal, felicitated the gathering with his words of appreciation and described the nature of innovation to the innovators.  About 158 inventions, from 15 colleges were exhibited. The inventions were classified as research processes and research products and categorized into the following domains as Computing and Mathematical Sciences, Language and Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical and Chemical Sciences. About 440 students from arts and science streams participated in the event. The judges were: Dr. R. Arockia Paul Rajan, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, CHRIST (Deemed to be University), Bangalore, Dr.Aureliah Rajasekar, Associate Professor, Department of Biotechnology, Thiruvalluvar University, Dr.S.Meenakshi, Assistant Professor, School of Social Sciences and Languages,  VIT, Vellore and Dr. J. Judith Vijaya, Dean of Sciences, Loyola College Chennai. The panel examined the innovations and selected the best ones.

During the valedictory session Rev.Dr.Praveen Peter, Vice-Principal & COE, felicitated the gathering. Cash prizes worth one lakh rupees and certificates were awarded to the winners of each domain. The IPR Cell (Intellectual Property Rights) of the college arranged for the patenting of the best inventions. The event was coordinated by Rev. Dr.G.Theophil Anand, SDB, Vice-Principal, (Admin) Shift II, Dr.Collins Arun Prakash, Department of Chemistry and assisted by faculty members from various departments.