Event Details

The PG & Research Department of Economics, Sacred Heart College (Autonomous), Tirupattur in collaboration with Indian Economic Association (IEA), New Delhi organized the two day National Seminar titled “India’s Economic Journey since Independence” on 12th & 13th December, 2022. It was sponsored by the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), New Delhi. It also marks the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, an initiative to celebrate and commemorate 75 years of progressive independent India and the glorious history of its people, culture, and achievements. The objective of the Seminar was to provide a platform to all the stakeholders like academicians, scholars and students community. During the inaugural session Dr. A. Xavier Susairaj, Head, PG & Research Department of Economics welcomed the gathering. Dr. A. Royal Edward Williams, Director and Convener of the Seminar highlighted the dynamics of the occasion. The inaugural address was given by
Rev. Dr. John Alexander, Rector & Secretary,   Presidential Address was given by Rev. Dr. D. Maria Antony Raj, Principal. Dr. D.K. Madaan, Secretary of Indian Economic Association, Head of School of Social Sciences, Punjab University, Patiyala was the chief guest. Dr. C. Dhandapani, Professor of Economics, Thiruvalluvar University, Vellore, gave the key note address. Eminent speakers from various parts of the country and prestigious institution like: Punjabi University, Patiala, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kerala, Bangalore University, School of Management, Pondicherry Central University, Puducherry, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli, M. S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Madurai Kamarajar University, Madurai, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru, The Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed to be University), The Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed to be University) were invited. During the inaugural session, an Abstract Book with ISBN was released by Rev. Dr. D. Maria Antony Raj, Principal, the first copy was received by Dr. D.K. Madaan, followed by Dr. P. Arunachalam, Dr. A. Royal Edward Williams,
Dr. A Xavier Susairaj, Dr. K. Sivakumar. About 214 research papers were received by the Department across the nation.